Tools & comparisons

Best Murf AI Alternatives for Text to Speech in 2026

Murf AI alternatives compared on price, free plans, commercial rights and editors: ElevenLabs, WellSaid, Typecast, Speechify and Kveeky, checked October 2026.

  • murf ai alternatives
  • murf alternative
  • murf ai pricing
Murf AI alternatives: illustration of two feature cards compared side by side

TL;DR

  • Murf AI alternatives compared on price, free plans, commercial rights and editors: ElevenLabs, WellSaid, Typecast, Speechify and Kveeky, checked October 2026.
On this page

The best Murf AI alternative depends on why you want to leave. If you want a bigger voice library, try ElevenLabs. If cost per minute is the problem, look at Typecast or Kveeky. If you need studio export and team review, look at WellSaid. Murf itself stays a good choice for slides and e-learning.

Last updated: October 30, 2026. Every vendor detail below was read on the vendor's own pages, checked on October 17, 2026.

People usually leave Murf for 3 reasons: the price starts at $19 a month billed annually, the plan allowances are hard to find, or they want a different editor. This guide compares 4 alternatives and Kveeky on those points and says where Murf still wins.

Key Takeaways

  • Murf's entry price is billed annually. Creator starts at $19 a month and Business at $66 a month, both billed annually. We could not read what each plan includes, because its pricing page needs JavaScript.
  • Murf wins on integrations. Canva, Google Slides, PowerPoint and Adobe Captivate, plus dubbing, a voice changer and an API.
  • ElevenLabs has the larger library. Starter is $6 a month for about 30 minutes, and the free plan is not licensed for commercial use.
  • Typecast is the cheapest entry plan. Basic is $5 a month for about 35 minutes with cloning and a commercial licence.
  • Kveeky is the simplest. The free plan is 500 credits a month (about 40 seconds). Basic is $7.50 a month billed yearly for 100 minutes.

On this page: Why people switch · Comparison table · ElevenLabs · WellSaid Labs · Typecast · Speechify · Kveeky · When to stay with Murf · FAQ · Sources

Why people switch

Murf is an active, capable product. It has a studio editor with speed and tone control, 10+ voice styles, and integrations with Canva, Google Slides, PowerPoint and Adobe Captivate. It lists more than 200 voices and more than 35 languages, and offers voice cloning, dubbing and an API (vendor figures).

The reasons to look elsewhere are practical:

  • Price. The $19 a month Creator price is billed annually. It is not a month-to-month price.
  • Allowances. Murf's pricing page loads with JavaScript, so we could not read what Creator or Business include. Without minutes per plan, you cannot work out a cost per minute.
  • Library size. By Murf's own figure of more than 200 voices, other tools list more.
  • Free plan. Murf's free plan gives 10 minutes of voice generation and 2 projects. Whether downloads are included was not stated on the page we checked.

For our side-by-side page, see Kveeky vs Murf AI.

Comparison table

Prices are what each vendor showed on October 17, 2026.

ToolFree planPaid fromCommercial rightsVoices (vendor figure)
Murf AI10 minutes of generation, 2 projects$19/month billed annuallyVendor FAQ says full rights; per-plan terms not stated200+
ElevenLabsAbout 10 minutes a month, non-commercial$6/month (about 30 minutes)From Starter10,000+
WellSaid Labs3 download minutes a month$10/month billed annuallyAll paid plans280+
TypecastAbout 5 minutes, once$5/month (about 35 minutes)From Basic600+ (pages disagree)
Speechify10 voices described as robotic$29/monthNot stated1,000+
Kveeky500 credits a month (about 40 seconds)$7.50/month billed yearly (100 minutes)Paid plansA large library

ElevenLabs

Best for: voice choice and expressive output.

ElevenLabs lists more than 10,000 voices and more than 90 languages on its newest model (vendor figures that its own pages do not fully agree on). It has audio tags for emotion, multi-speaker dialogue, an API, and apps for iOS and Android.

Pros

  • A far larger library than Murf or Kveeky.
  • Instant voice cloning from Starter, professional cloning from Creator.
  • Team seats on higher plans.

Cons

  • The free plan is about 10 minutes a month and not licensed for commercial use, under its Terms.
  • Many models and credit rules make it harder to learn.

Starter is $6 a month for 30,000 credits (about 30 minutes). See the ElevenLabs pricing page.

Best alternative to it: Murf AI, if your end product is a presentation.

WellSaid Labs

Best for: teams that need studio-style narration.

WellSaid's voices are modeled on licensed recordings of real voice actors. It exports up to 48 kHz on Pro and Business, with WAV on Business, and has shared workspaces, review and feedback, and Adobe Premiere Pro and Adobe Express integrations.

Pros

  • Clear plan allowances: Starter lists 240 download minutes a year.
  • All paid plans include commercial rights.
  • Higher-fidelity export.

Cons

  • Starter is $19 a month on monthly billing for 20 download minutes. That is a higher cost per minute than most tools here.
  • The free plan is a trial with no commercial rights.
  • Starter and Pro list English voices only.

Plan details are on the WellSaid pricing page.

Best alternative to it: Murf AI, if you want more languages or slide integrations.

Typecast

Best for: low entry price and delivery control.

Typecast Basic is $5 a month for about 35 minutes, with a commercial licence, all AI voices and one Instant Cloning slot. Speed and basic emotion controls start on Plus at $19 a month. The editor also offers pitch, though we could not confirm which plan includes it.

Pros

  • The cheapest entry plan in this list.
  • A documented API with a free tier.
  • Avatars and video export in the same product.

Cons

  • The free plan is 3,000 lifetime credits (about 5 minutes) and requires attribution.
  • Its voice figures conflict (600+ and 700+), so the real count is unclear.

Best alternative to it: Murf AI, if you work in Google Slides, PowerPoint or Captivate.

Speechify

Best for: listening to documents, articles and books.

Speechify is built around reading things aloud, at up to 5x, with AI summaries and cloud-drive integrations. Its Studio is a separate voiceover product. Premium lists more than 1,000 voices and more than 60 languages.

Pros

  • Strong for reading on a phone or across cloud drives.
  • Extra features such as AI summaries, voice typing and AI podcasts.

Cons

  • Premium is $29 a month, billed monthly on the page we checked.
  • The free plan has 10 voices that Speechify itself describes as robotic.
  • Commercial use, cloning and API terms were not on the pages we checked.

Best alternative to it: Murf AI, if you need voiceover for video, courses or training.

Kveeky

Best for: a simple script-to-file workflow at a low price.

You paste a script, pick a voice, set speed, volume and emotion, and download an MP3 or WAV file. Kveeky has a large voice library; the languages page shows what is supported today.

Pros

  • A free plan with no credit card: 500 credits a month. One credit is one character, so that is about 40 seconds of audio.
  • Basic lists 100 minutes, and the allowance is on the plan page. Billed yearly it is $7.50 a month, or $0.075 a minute (our calculation).
  • Commercial rights are listed on every paid plan.

Cons

  • The free plan is small: enough to test a voice, not to run a channel.
  • Free is standard voices only, and commercial rights are listed on paid plans, not Free.
  • No pitch control.
  • No Canva, Google Slides, PowerPoint or Captivate integrations like Murf's.
  • ElevenLabs lists a much larger library.

See all plans on the Kveeky pricing page. To decide whether you need to pay at all, read free vs paid text to speech.

Best alternative to it: Murf AI, if your voiceover ends up in a presentation or a course.

When to stay with Murf

Stay with Murf if you build presentations or e-learning in PowerPoint, Google Slides or Captivate, because the integrations are its real edge. Stay if you want voice styles, a voice changer and dubbing in one product, or if you need an API or an enterprise contract.

Leave if your main need is a lower cost per minute you can verify, a bigger library, or a simpler editor. Before you decide, do this once:

  1. Open Murf's pricing page in a browser and write down the minutes each plan includes.
  2. Divide each plan price by those minutes.
  3. Do the same for Kveeky, Typecast and ElevenLabs, then compare.

Frequently asked questions

Is Murf AI worth it?

For presentations and e-learning, yes. Murf integrates with Canva, Google Slides, PowerPoint and Adobe Captivate. For plain voiceover on a budget, other tools list lower entry prices.

What is the cheapest Murf AI alternative?

On the numbers we read, Typecast Basic is $5 a month for about 35 minutes. Kveeky Basic is $7.50 a month billed yearly for 100 minutes. ElevenLabs Starter is $6 a month for about 30 minutes.

Can I use Murf AI audio commercially?

Murf says it provides full commercial usage rights for audio created with its converter. Plan-by-plan terms were not stated on the page we checked, so read Murf's terms before you publish.

Does Murf have a free plan?

Yes. Murf says its free plan costs $0 with no credit card and gives 2 projects and 10 minutes of voice generation. Whether downloads are included was not stated. Kveeky Free gives 500 credits a month (about 40 seconds) with no credit card.

Which Murf alternative has the biggest voice library?

ElevenLabs, by the vendor's own figure of more than 10,000 voices. Speechify lists 1,000+ on Premium. Murf lists 200+. These are vendor figures, and ElevenLabs's own pages are not consistent.

How this guide was sourced

This guide is written by Ankit Agarwal for the Kveeky team. Disclosure: Kveeky makes an AI voice generator. We state where Kveeky is weaker, use no Kveeky usage data, and mark anything we could not read.

  • Murf AI: murf.ai/text-to-speech, checked on 2026-10-17. Its pricing page loads with JavaScript and was not readable.
  • ElevenLabs: elevenlabs.io/pricing, checked on 2026-10-17.
  • WellSaid Labs: wellsaid.io/pricing, checked on 2026-10-17.
  • Typecast: typecast.ai/pricing, checked on 2026-10-17.
  • Speechify: speechify.com/pricing, checked on 2026-10-17.
  • Kveeky plans: kveeky.com/pricing.

Cost per minute is our calculation: plan price divided by the vendor's stated allowance.

Your next step: open Murf's pricing page, note the minutes in each plan, then run 60 seconds of your real script through the free plans of your top 2 picks. Compare the result with the Kveeky plans.