Compare Google Cloud Text-to-Speech
Details side-by-side comparison of Google Cloud Text-to-Speech against top competitors.
Detailed Comparison
Google Cloud Text-to-Speech
Text-to-speech API from Google Cloud with Chirp 3: HD, Studio, Neural2, WaveNet and Standard voices
TTSAPICloud
Podcastle (now Async)
AI audio and video suite with text to speech, now operating as Async
TTSPodcastVoice Cloning
Pricing
| Model | Pay-as-you-go, per character, with a monthly free allowance | Freemium / Subscription |
| Starting Price | $4 per 1 million characters (Standard, WaveNet) | Not stated on the page we checked |
| Has Free Version | ||
| Plan Summary | Standard and WaveNet $4 per 1M charactersNeural2 $16 per 1M charactersChirp 3: HD $30 per 1M characters | Free: 10 AI credits and about 15 min text to speech, lifetimeEssentials: 450 credits and about 2 hours a monthPro: 1,200 credits and about 10 hours a monthTeams: 3,000 credits and about 40 hours a monthBusiness custom |
Other Specifications
| Product Type | Text-to-SpeechAPI | Text-to-SpeechVoice CloningAI Video and Audio Editor |
Language Support
| Languages Supported | Total not stated on the page we checked (Chirp 3: HD lists 53 language variants) | over 15 languages (pricing page); '15 different languages' and 'over 100 languages and dialects tested' on the AI voices page |
| Accent Variety | - | Not stated on the page we checked |
Voice Quality
| Quality Rating | Not stated on the page we checked | Not stated on the page we checked |
| Tonal Description | Voice families: Chirp 3: HD, Studio, Neural2, WaveNet, Standard | Vendor describes natural pronunciation; no quality claim is made here. |
Voice Count
| Total Voices | Not stated on the page we checked | 1000+ (vendor figure) |
| Categories | Chirp 3: HD (30 voices), Studio, Neural2, WaveNet, Standard | Stock AI voices plus voice cloning |
Ease of Use
| Usability Rating | Developer-oriented (API) | Not stated on the page we checked |
| User Experience | Not stated on the page we checked | Chat-based AI editor |
Integrations
| API Availability | Yes, Cloud Text-to-Speech API | Developer Voice API announced under the Async brand; per-plan access not stated on the page we checked. |
| Platform Integrations | N/A | Not stated on the page we checked |
Use Cases
| Primary Use Cases | News and broadcast reading (Studio)Conversational agents (Chirp 3: HD) | PodcastsYouTube videosPodcast adsMarketing |
| Applications | Not stated on the page we checked | Monetized YouTube content, podcast ads and marketing, per the vendor FAQ. |
Text to Speech Features
| SSML Support | Not stated on the page we checked | |
| API Access | ||
| Multi Language | ||
| Emotional Impulse | N/A | Not stated on the page we checked |
| Voice Cloning | N/A |
Character/Word Limits
| Plan Limits | Per-character billing | Text to speech allowances per plan: ~15 min lifetime (Free), ~2 h, ~10 h, ~40 h a month on paid plans |
| Monthly Limit | Free: 4M (Standard, WaveNet), 1M (Neural2, Chirp 3: HD) characters a month, per a web search summary of the pricing page | ~15 minutes lifetime (Free) |
Commercial Rights
| Included | N/A | |
| Licensing Terms | Not stated on the page we checked | Vendor FAQ: you retain ownership of the output. Per-plan commercial rights not stated on the page we checked. |
File Formats
| Supported Formats | MP3LINEAR16 | MP3WAV (paid plans) |
| Export Options | MP3 and LINEAR16 (WAV encoding); Chirp 3: HD streaming also ALAW, MULAW, OGG_OPUS, PCM | Audio: MP3 up to 160kbps on Free, 320kbps MP3 or 1411kbps WAV on paid plans |
Customer Support
| Support Channels | N/A | Not stated on the page we checked |
| Priority Support | N/A | Not stated on the page we checked |
Find Your Perfect Voice AI Solution
Choosing the right text-to-speech platform impacts user experience and production costs. Let our comparison guide your decision.